I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2005 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 104 (LS)

As amended.

Introduced by:

L. F. Kasperbauer
R. Klitzkie
Mark Forbes
F. B. Aguon, Jr.
J. M. S. Brown
Edward J. B. Calvo
B. J. F. Cruz
Mike Cruz
L. A. Leon Guerrero
J. A. Lujan
A. B. Palacios
R. J. Respicio
Ray Tenorio
A. R. Unpingco
J. T. Won Pat

Relative to commending and congratulating the Asmuyao Community School on the occasion of its award of full accreditation from the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) Accrediting Commission for Schools, and in recognition of the organization's thirty-three (33) years of commitment to ensuring an educated island community and service to the people of Guam.

BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, thirty-three (33) years ago, on April 24, 1972, the *Asmuyao*Community School was founded, offering an alternative approach to education
to help ensure an educated island community; and

WHEREAS, the *Asmuyao Community School* has validated its educational processes by earning an award of full accreditation status from the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) Accrediting Commission for Schools; and

WHEREAS, the earned accreditation certificate from WASC that grants official recognition for a period of six (6) years, until June 30, 2011, speaks of the confidence of the WASC accrediting team in the *Asmuyao Community School* evolution - "that the school is a trustworthy institution of learning, validates the integrity of a school's program and student transcripts" and assures that the "school's purposes are appropriate and being accomplished through a viable educational program"; and

WHEREAS, since its organization, the school has served hundreds of students from all walks of life, including students who want to graduate early, students who are "at risk" of not graduating with their class, students who are about to become parents, and adults who need to obtain a High School Degree to advance in their professions, thus helping to ensure a better future for each individual student and the island community-at-large; and

WHEREAS, as part of its service program to the island, Asmuyao 1 2 encourages prospective teen mothers to continue their education by offering classes at no cost during the latter part of their pregnancy; Asmuyao also 3 4 to individuals possessing assistance a General extends Education 5 Development (GED) Diploma who need to obtain a High School Diploma to 6 enter into military service; and

WHEREAS, the *Asmuyao Community School* provides a valuable service to the island community, serving approximately two hundred seventy five (275) students annually; and

WHEREAS, Asmuyao is led by its Board of Trustees, including Ms.
Jesslene Leon Guerrero, Student Representative; Ms. Clara Peterson, Memberat-Large; Mr. Graig Reyes, Treasurer; Ms. Jeannie Leon Guerrero, Secretary;
Mr. Gordon Ibanez, President; and Mr. John Randolph "Rand" Coffman Jr.,
Director; and

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, individuals aiding in the success of *Asmuyao* securing a positive Accreditation status include the staff of the 2005 Academic Year – Ms. Cathy Lujan, Deputy Director; Ms. Julie Leon Guerrero, Registrar; Ms. Joni Rivera, and Ms. Dina Santos, Language Arts; Mr. Ronaldo Reglos, Math; Ms. Sally Cabrera, Social Studies and Chamorro Studies; Ms. Anita Samson, and Ms. Nenita Salinas; Science; and Mr. Marlon Molinos, Office Manager; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that *I Mina' Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, commend and congratulate the *Asmuyao Community School* on the occasion of its earned six (6) year Accredited status

- 1 from the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) Accrediting
- 2 Commission for Schools; and be it further
- 3 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker certify, and Secretary of the Legislature
- 4 attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter
- 5 transmitted to Mr. John Randolph "Rand" Coffman Jr., Director, Asmuyao
- 6 Community School; to the Board of Trustees, Ms. Jesslene Leon Guerrero, Ms.
- 7 Clara Peterson, Mr. Graig Reyes, Ms. Jeannie Leon Guerrero and Mr. Gordon
- 8 Ibanez; to the staff, Ms. Cathy Lujan, Ms. Julie Leon Guerrero, Ms. Joni Rivera,
- 9 Ms. Dina Santos, Mr. Ronaldo Reglos, Ms. Sally Cabrera, Ms. Anita Samson,
- 10 Ms. Nenita Salina, and Mr. Marlon Molinos; to Mr. Juan P. Flores,
- 11 Superintendent of the Guam Public School System; and to the Honorable Felix
- 12 P. Camacho, I Maga Lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 10TH DAY OF NOVEMBER, 2005.

MARK FORBES

Speaker

EĎWARD J.B. CALVO

Senator and Secretary of the Legislature